Too bad, so sad…giving the smackdown 1: Astro Asshole

The cat has claws, yo. Don’t make me have to kill a bitch.

Partake of this ditty, for instance.

A while back, I posted an answer to an astrological question on the MBTI group. You would have thought I slapped someone’s mama, from the response I got! People came out, claws drawn, putting it on my shoulders that I had to suddenly prove the whole theory of astrology (ALL SCHOOLS!). I just wrote back that people needed to have some respect for other’s opinions and hobbies, and that someone had just asked a simple question and got a simple answer.


I said: Okay, give me your birth place, time, and date, and I’ll do your chart and stuff. Put up or shut up.

I hadn’t gone back to the group lately, being that I had better things to deal with this week, but I planned on going back today to see what was up. Turns out that I didn’t have to…

The lead asshat, Alex-something-has-symbols-in-his-screen name-like-a-damned-pimply-teenybopper, comes chasing me straight to my Inbox. He’s Libra, surprisingly; they’re usually very nice people. Well, actually, the guys can be a little critical in the dating dept., but that’s neither here nor there.

Too bad, so sad.

*********

Subj: Hey! (…is for horses, motherfucker. Didn’t your mother teach you any goddamn manners?)
How’s my horoscope coming? You trying to prove me right or something? If so, thanks. If not, what’s the hold up?

-Alex.

I then replied:

I haven’t been to the forum this week. Could explain it.

Send me your info here. And make sure it’s honest, please.

Other than that, all I have to say is that if you’re going to want to argue something or someone’s hobbies and interests, have the guts to read their page and get to know who you’re putting down.

I don’t have an honest clue as to why you’re argumentative. I’m sure that you think that I’m foolish, perhaps, or slow, or gullible. The truth of that you can divine from reading my page and my blog. It’ll be a soon-disproven truth, but it would be a verified one.

The moral of the story is that you don’t know me, and I don’t know you. I’m always open to knowing people. Heck, even after you’d called me names and what-have-you, I would still friend you. I don’t think it’s me that you’re knocking personally, but people who seem to take the vulnerable and willing on a merry paper chase by way of a newspaper blurb with the word Virgo or Libra at the top of it. Those people are asshats.

I, personally, think predictive is a line of bullshit, and you’re not going to be getting that from me. What I do love is reading an alternative theory on my existence and self that’s different and fun. And that’s it.

So, sling away, if you like. Hopefully, you don’t like football. I’d have to make fun of you then 🙂

Jeanette

He says:

Deuce (Bigelow? Straight flush? Wha?),

>I haven’t been to the forum this week. Could explain it.
So you posed a question, then never bothered to wait for an answer. That’s just rude.

>Send me your info here. And make sure it’s honest, please.
It’s in the forum already.

>Other than that, all I have to say is that if you’re going to want to argue something or someone’s hobbies and interests, have the guts to read their page and get to know who you’re putting down.
I’m not attacking you. I’m telling the truth about astrology. Don’t take everything so personally. The stars don’t, contrary to what some people think.

>I don’t have an honest clue as to why you’re argumentative.
Because you’re promoting a crap system based on unsubstantiated dogma.

>I’m sure that you think that I’m foolish, perhaps, or slow, or gullible.
Because you’re promoting a crap system based on unsubstantiated dogma? Yeah.

>The truth of that you can divine from reading my page and my blog.
I looked at the picures. More Princess Leia, please. Say, can you do that white outfit her mom wears in Attack of the Clones? You know, after it gets ripped with the bare mdriff?

>It’ll be a soon-disproven truth, but it would be a verified one.
You really can’t make up your mind here, can you?

>The moral of the story is that you don’t know me, and I don’t know you.
Again, you’re really hung up on this idea I’m out to get you (into something other than a Star Wars costume… I’ll settle for Wonder Woman or any of the members of the X-Men as well).

>I’m always open to knowing people. Heck, even after you’d called me names and what-have-you, I would still friend you.
And you don’t want me to think you’re gullible?

>I don’t think it’s me that you’re knocking personally
Then why does this keep coming back to how I should get to know you?

>but people who seem to take the vulnerable and willing on a merry paper chase by way of a newspaper blurb with the word Virgo or Libra at the top of it. Those people are asshats.
Oooo, Star Wars quote alert: “Who’s more foolish, the fool or the fool who follows?”

>I, personally, think predictive is a line of bullshit, and you’re not going to be getting that from me.
So far I haven’t gotten anything at all. Please post already!

>What I do love is reading an alternative theory on my existence and self that’s different and fun. And that’s it.
A theory is an explanation grounded in consistently repeatable observations. I’m still waiting for a defense of astrology that doesn’t immediately resolve to dogma.

>So, sling away, if you like.
Just as soon as you give me more material.

>Hopefully, you don’t like football.
No, but it makes for good analogies and it’s a way supposedly (but not really) hetero guys can pretend to be manly while looking at muscular guys climb on one another in tight outfits.

>I’d have to make fun of you then 🙂
Wait, you don’t know me, remember?

-Alex.

Yeaaah. And I suddenly really see what I’m dealing with here.

Sigh. Oookay. I’ll ask one more time for the info here, and then I’m done, and you can go back and have a good laugh on my account, I suppose. I’m not going back. The MBTI group is really not very friendly, and I’m a member of other ones on MS that are a lot more nonjudgemental and competitive.

There is a distinct lack of any desire to honestly listen on your part. You have your mind made up. I could write a 30 page summary of every little thing on your chart, and 90% could be true, but you would negate it for the 10% that’s not quite perfect. You would do this to defend your ego, to protect it from the stigma of being wrong. I made the last football comment jokingly; you couldn’t even just take the joke for what it was.

Actually, no. Don’t send your info. I was going to scrap the report and simply set up an account for you at the best site I know of, but I’m not even going to do that. I could sit here and make an ultimately futile attempt to…do what? Make you a believer? Something that I’m not, even? Convince you that I’m worthy of your good opinion? I have a friend list full of people that think that already.

So, no. No proof here. Too bad, so sad. Toodles.

I think that you have to pick your battles. I could have kept going, I suppose. I could argue till my head exploded. I could do that. But, you know, I have cotton balls that merit more interest and attention than this guy.

Then again, what can you expect from a guy that can’t even be brave enough to post a pic in his profile? What, can’t do your dirt with your face showing?

Be an asshole loud and proud, darling. Just don’t stink as much as you do.

Too bad, so sad…

 

Please share me if you like me!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

********


Technorati : , ,
Del.icio.us : , ,

~ by isiskali on November 28, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
